Hey.

So. It’s been awhile. 

Life got hectic and I got de-motivated. 

But I was walking up the steps to Cleveland Community College this evening and the moon was in my favorite phase – just a sliver in a lavender sky – and one bright star hung below it and I felt a nudge towards creativity. So I’m plunking myself down and writing, whether  it’s any good or not.

This morning I had my students read a short story by Raymond Carver (Why Don’t You Dance), about a man who puts out all his household furnishings on the lawn and a boy and girl who come across the tableau and want to buy some of the items. After we had finished reading it, we looked up the words they didn’t know and talked about what the story meant. When we were done, one of my students looked up and said, “Ms. Clark, I really liked this story.”

That one comment inspired hope. To me, if you read, you learn. You grow. You expand your world. Maybe I can’t inspire them, but good literature can. 

So, I will continue to bring stories to the classroom and we will continue to read.

Now, to (reluctantly) take a look back at October. 

Here were my October goals and how I did with them:

– Bike 150 miles. Ha. Nope. Only did about 37 for the entire month. But I have started doing some running and did 3 and a half miles yesterday, which is quite an accomplishment for me.

-read to page 850 in War and Peace. Yeah, kind of bombed this one. The massive tome is collecting dust on my bookshelf. 

-Find a tattoo place. Yes, I have two possibilities in mind. Now to do it….

-Meet with mill owner and write story for potential magazine article. I did in fact meet with the owner of this lovely mill, interviewed him and his wife, and started the story but have not finished it. 

-finish editing book. No. Over half-way through it though!

-Hike at Mount Mitchell. No. Took Nat hiking at South Mountain again though and we hiked all the way to the top.

-Come up with an idea for a short story and at least start writing it. I did do this. But haven’t finished yet. Seems to be a recurring theme…

– park in some small town and walk through it. No.

– Sit in a coffee shop for an hour and write down everything I observe. No.

– read two novels and write a review. I actually read three. All were fantastic. Review coming soon (?)

– blog once a week (or more). Ha. Not even close.

 

 

So there you have it folks. My sad accomplishments for last month. I’m not even going to bother setting goals for November, though I do have some things I want to accomplish. We will see what happens!

 

Leave a Reply

