Saturday notes

The unexpectedly delicious scent of rolled oats cooking in milk quickly fills my small kitchen. Coleman Hell serenades me from my little Bluetooth speaker and Charlie plays with his dog toy at my feet. Saturday, that wonderful day of freedom, is here at last. My body woke me at 6:30 am and I was desperate to fall back asleep but my brain had other ideas. A constant stream of worries and tasks that need to be completed and bills paid ran through my mind preventing sleep from claiming me again. I watched as the new light of day began to filter through my bedroom blinds. I made lists in my head and studied some new Spanish words before finally giving up and getting out of bed at 8:30. The luxury of just laying under warm covers was enough for me this morning. The sky is grey and looks laden with even more rain. The ditches are full, my yard saturated and brimming over. I choose to focus on how the tiny raindrops collect on bare branches and shine brighter than diamonds. I’m working on training my mind to see good and focus on the bright things in life. It’s a constant battle but I keep trying. 

Nat and I walked the dogs around the neighborhood and then poor Biscuit’s little paws were dirty and he was spattered with mud so I gave him a bath. Now I’m making oatmeal for our breakfast before we tackle the rest of the day. 

Happy Saturday!

Leave a comment